My First Project: Social Vibe

One of the features WordPress allows is a widget called Social Vibe. For someone looking to make a positive impact, it’s an easy way to connect with causes and brands.

Users can pick the non-profit they want to support. This month, my blog is supporting ‘One Laptop Per Child‘ program through Laptop.org. A rather appropriate way, I think, for someone in the social good space to give back to the community.

What does One Laptop Per Child do? Provides functional laptops to underpriviledged children to aid in their education.

How does the SocialVibe widget help? Bloggers and readers can participate in a variety of free activities (typically short surveys) from branded sponsors. The sponsors get brand recognition being a part of the network, the non-profits get donations from the brands, and the participants get a good feeling knowing they helped out a child, animal, human, etc. in need.

What are YOU doing to help? Each month this year I’ll change out the cause I support using the Social Vibe widget. At the end of the year, the cause that’s received the most support will be a permanent fixture here. So get to helping! Click on Social Vibe box on the bottom right (you may have to scroll down a bit) to get started.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. purposeinc
    Jan 14, 2011 @ 11:36:59

    Nice to find your blog. Glad to see you helping the world. I love the theme. The swirls at the top are just lovely. 🙂 Much Love,
    dk

    • Dina
      Jan 14, 2011 @ 18:21:31

      Thanks DK! What can I say, I’m a sucker for girlie designs? 🙂 Sorry I missed you in Vegas. We have to catch up eventually!

