A Change Will Do You Good

While I absolutely love the people I work with, the time has come for me to try something new. I’m still going to be a significant presence at the office, and will continue to work with the company as needed, but I felt like it was a good time to try and work on some new projects and long-awaited ideas.

I’m so excited to be working with new people on new projects, but it’s a bit scary. I know I’ll always have a job, but can I have a business? Working for yourself is, I imagine, a rollercoaster ride. While you set your own schedule, take on your choice of projects, and are your own boss, you also don’t:

Have a stable income, a team- when starting out at least, or in my case, a solid sense of the future. While I’ve freelanced part time before, this time it just feels different. I’m hoping it’s a small step towards something huge. Who knows? Maybe a year from now I’ll have my interns or an assistant read me back this post- ok, I’m just kidding. I’ll probably be too busy on my private jet. 🙂

What have your experiences been with starting your own business? Did you take the leap with or without preparations (both financial and emotional)? Did you exceed your expectations? Share in the comments!

Comments are closed.

